Coordinates: 44°18′26″N 69°46′54″W / 44.307138°N 69.781586°W / 44.307138; -69.781586

The Maine Senate is the upper house of the Maine Legislature, the state legislature of the U.S. state of Maine. The Senate currently consists of 35 members representing an equal number of districts across the state, though the Maine Constitution allows for “an odd number of Senators, not less than 31 nor more than 35”.[1] Unlike the lower House, the Senate does not set aside nonvoting seats for Native tribes. Because it is a part-time position, members of the Maine Senate usually have outside employment as well.

The Senate meets at the Maine State House in Augusta. Members are limited to four consecutive terms with each term being two years but may run again after a two-year wait.


Unlike many U.S. states, the Senate’s leader is not the lieutenant governor, as Maine does not have a lieutenant governor. Instead, the Senate chooses its own president, who is also the first in the line of gubernatorial succession.

Composition of the 130th (2020-2022) Maine Senate


(Shading indicates majority caucus)
Begin 126th Legislature (Dec. 2012)19151350
End 126th Legislature
Begin 127th Legislature (Dec. 2014)[a]14210350
End 127th Legislature1520
Begin 128th Legislature (Dec. 2016)17180350
End 128th Legislature
Begin 129th Legislature (Dec. 2018)21140350
End 129th Legislature
Begin 130th Legislature (Dec. 2020)[b]22130350
December 2, 2020[c]21341
March 10, 2021[d]22350
Latest voting share62.9%37.1%0%


President of the SenateTroy JacksonDem
Majority LeaderEloise VitelliDem
Assistant Majority LeaderMattie DaughtryDem
Minority LeaderJeffrey TimberlakeRep
Assistant Minority LeaderMatthew PouliotRep
Secretary of the SenateDarek GrantNon-Partisan
Assistant Secretary of the SenateMarcia HomsteadNon-Partisan

Members of the Maine Senate

Districts are currently numbered starting with 1 from north to south. This is reversed after each decennial redistricting, which will next occur in 2021 and will go into effect beginning with the 2022 primary and general elections. The current district lines, which were drawn in 2013 and were first used in the 2014 primary and general elections, will only be in effect for 8 years rather than the usual 10 as Maine adjusts its legislative redistricting cycle to conform with most other states.

↑ denotes that the Senator first won in a special election

DistrictSenatorPartyMun. of residenceCty. of residenceFirst electedTerm limited
1Troy JacksonDemAllagashAroostook2016 (2008–2014)2024
2Trey StewartRepPresque IsleAroostook20202028
3Bradlee FarrinRepNorridgewockSomerset20182026
4Paul DavisRepSangervillePiscataquis2014 (1998–2006)2022
5Jim DillDemOld TownPenobscot20142022
6Marianne MooreRepCalaisWashington20182026
7Louis LuchiniDemEllsworthHancock20182026
8Kimberley RosenRepBucksportHancock20142022
9Joe BaldacciDemBangorPenobscot20202028
10Stacey GuerinRepGlenburnPenobscot20182026
11Chip CurryDemBelfastWaldo20202028
12David MiramantDemCamdenKnox20142022
13Chloe MaxminDemNobleboroLincoln20202028
14Craig HickmanDemWinthropKennebec2021↑2028
15Matthew PouliotRepAugustaKennebec20182026
16Scott CyrwayRepBentonKennebec20142022
17Russell BlackRepWiltonFranklin20182026
18Lisa KeimRepDixfieldOxford20162024
19Richard A. BennettRepOxfordOxford2020 (1996–2004)2028
20Ned ClaxtonDemAuburnAndroscoggin20182026
21Nate LibbyDemLewistonAndroscoggin20142022
22Jeffrey TimberlakeRepTurnerAndroscoggin20182026
23Eloise VitelliDemArrowsicSagadahoc2016 (2013↑–2014)2024
24Mattie DaughtryDemBrunswickCumberland20202028
25Cathy BreenDemFalmouthCumberland2014[e]2022
26William DiamondDemWindhamCumberland2014 (1982–1986; 2004–2012)2022
27Ben ChipmanDemPortlandCumberland20162024
28Heather SanbornDemPortlandCumberland20182026
29Anne CarneyDemCape ElizabethCumberland20202028
30Stacy BrennerDemScarboroughCumberland20202028
31Donna BaileyDemSacoYork20202028
32Susan DeschambaultDemBiddefordYork2016↑2022
33David WoodsomeRepWaterboroYork20142022
34Joe RaffertyDemKennebunkYork20202028
35Mark LawrenceDemEliotYork2018 (1992–2000)2026

Past composition of the Senate


  1. ^ Includes a provisionally sworn-in Republican Sen.-elect who was subsequently revealed to have lost her election and replaced with the actual winner, a Democrat.
  2. ^ Includes a Sen.-elect who declined to take the oath of office.
  3. ^ Sen.-elect Shenna Bellows (D-14) declines to take the oath of office after being nominated by Democrats in the Legislature to be Secretary of State of Maine, to which post she was subsequently elected unanimously by joint ballot of the Legislature.
  4. ^ Sen.-elect Craig Hickman (D-14) is sworn in after winning the March 9 special election triggered by the resignation of Sen.-elect Bellows.
  5. ^ Due to a protracted recount, Sen. Breen didn’t assume office until January 8, 2015.


External links